Summer Reverie

lady in field

Summer Reverie::

The scent of honeysuckle

Mingled with freshly cut grass,

Melodious chorus of nesting birds.

Golden bright sun rays,

Sweet caressing breeze,

My bare feet on dampness,

Wind stirring the trees.

Wild bunnies a-leaping,

The neighbors a-peeking,

Flavors of the islands from my kitchen a-sneaking.

Laughter from happy children,

Long seen kin a visiting,

My heart fills with warmness,

As the ice cubes I pop.

Close friends me a texting,

Broken connections cause me vexing

Gotta shake things up

Turn the tempo up

Summer’s coming and I’m all pumped up!

xoxo

~ Deb

__________________________________________________________________________

Hi Dolls! As you probably can tell, my mood is overwhelmed with delicious fantasies of the upcoming summer season. I know that it’s a couple of weeks away, but this past weekend I had a chance to take a break with the long Memorial Weekend and get my mind properly conditioned for the closely approaching summer. I hope that many of you were able to enjoy a break as well since you all work so hard. I want to share with you some of the things that I got into while kicking back at home. I hope you enjoy!

Lemonade

:: Refreshing Country Lemonade

strawberry smoothies

:: Yummy Strawberry Smoothie

blackberry pops

:: For the Kids ~ Sweet Black Cherry Pops

StrawberryWithAHintOfPeachandCirocVodkaPopsicles-For the grown ups

:: For Grown-ups ~ Strawberry Pops with a hint of Peach & a splash of Ciroc Snap Frost Vodka! Yum.

Fried Chicken with a bit of Chili Sauce for that kick to get the juices flowing

:: Crunchy Fried Chicken with a hint of mild chili

Spicy ginger pepper shrimp1

:: Juicy Ginger Shrimp

The Ginger Shrimp was oh so delicious! If you want to try it, here’s a rough recipe you can follow:

I used these :~

Shrimp

Wine (optional)

Ginger Slices

Olive Oil

Garlic (fresh or powdered)

Red Pepper (optional)

Soy Sauce (optional)

Bean Paste or Corn Starch (optional)

Parsley Sprigs

I cooked it like so :~

Wash the shrimp and saute them in a bit of  Olive Oil in a wok or sauce pan. Add a splash of cooking wine (if you so desire). Toss in the ginger and garlic, and stir over low heat. Sprinkle in the pepper and stir in a bit of soy sauce. If you wish to have a thicker consistency to your sauce you may add a little bean paste (not too much). Some folks use corn starch to thicken sauce, so you have that option too. When it’s done, inhale the awesome aroma and serve garnished with Parsley sprigs. It’s great over white or Jasmine rice. Now dig in and enjoy!

xoxo

~ Deb

DebtimeStories.com

[Any material taken from debTime Stories for re-use must first have the permission of the Author. Thank you.]

Copyright 2013 DebTimeStories.com.  All Rights Reserved.

What d'ya think?